History and Recognition

Softball Australia is the national governing body for softball in Australia. Our membership comprises 8 States and Territories (Member States), Associations, Clubs and individual members who play, coach, officiate and support softball in Australia.

Many members have received recognition from Softball Australia, the ISF (now WBSC) and the Australian Government for the significant contributions they have made to the growth and success of softball across Australia.

Softball has a long and rich history in Australia dating back to 1939. The following timeline traces this history.

If you would like to contact our History Committee the email address is history@softball.org.au