U17 Boys – History and Winners

U17 Boys – History and Winners

Arthur Allsopp Shield
Australian U17 Boys’ Championship

An avid sports man all his life, Arthur Allsopp began his sporting career as a state cricketer for NSW and Victoria before the lure of the softball diamond claimed him. In 1950, Allsopp earned his Victorian umpires badge and then four years later his Australian umpire’s badge.

Elected President of the Victorian Umpires Association in 1950, Allsopp umpired 18 consecutive Australian Open Championships between 1950 and 1963. He went on to officiate at both the Australian/South African Test Series in Melbourne in 1960 and again at the first World Championship in 1965.

In 1961, Allsopp helped establish the Waverley Softball Association, and witnessed that Association grow into one of the largest, and most successful, in Australia. Known as a man who devoted all his energies to assisting others, Allsopp was both a coach and mentor to junior and senior players in Melbourne through the 1950s and 1960s, before later concentrating exclusively on juniors. It is said Allsopp, who was still actively coaching into his early 80s, had coached most of the Victorian players to make an Australian team since the 1960s, as a result of his involvement with junior players in the Melbourne and Waverley Softball Associations during that time.

At the beginning of the 1990s, the Australian Softball Federation (ASF, later Softball Australia) decided it was fitting that Allsopp be permanently linked with an under-age championship.  In 1991, the Australian U16 Boys’ Championship was initiated, with NSW winning the inaugural Arthur Allsopp Shield.

In November the same year he was the first male in history to be inducted into the ASF – Hall of Fame. Allsopp passed away in 1993, but will always be remembered as a gentleman who never sought any personal recognition for the time and effort he gave to junior softball in Australia.

In 2011 the U16 Boys’ Championships transitioned to an U17 Boys’ Championship, whilst the age group for this Championship has changed, the Arthur Allsopp Shield was retained.

Previous winners

1991 NSW in Sydney 2005 NSW in Brisbane
1992 NSW in Sydney 2006 NSW in Perth
1993 NSW in Canberra 2007 ACT in Adelaide
1994 NSW in Perth 2008 NSW in Canberra
1995 NSW in Queensland 2009 Vic in Launceston
1996 NSW in Melbourne 2010 NSW in Sydney
1997 NSW in Sydney 2011 Qld in Adelaide
1998 NSW in Adelaide 2012 NSW in Melbourne
1999 NSW in Adelaide 2013 Qld in Launceston
2000 ACT in Canberra 2014 NSW in Canberra
2001 NSW in Adelaide 2015 NSW in Canberra
2002 NSW in Sydney 2016 NSW in Sydney
2003 WA in Melbourne 2017 Qld in Canberra
2004 Vic in Hobart 2018 NSW in Sydney